Home » Uncategorized » Myself

Myself

Wherever did that person come from
Who called herself my name?
Whatever did she think
As she played this secret game?
And where was I,
That I let her slip into my role so well,
Was I conducting myself
Throughout her own private Hell?

I’m a girl who laughs, not cries,
Who climbs above her pain.
Friends love to have me near
To lift their spirits weary.
How dare that probable one
Become so very near me?
Until I felt that I was just a dream self
And my spirit just pretend.
She permeated my cells
Transmuted to her own.

But did I, in becoming her,
Lift other hearts with laughter
And cast away their gloom?
Have we just exchanged places
While switching living rooms?
Perhaps she lent me seriousness
While I supplied the lightness.
Now we’ll each be balanced
And combine them both to brightness.

Leave a Reply

